Court Reporting Schools in Texas
In the state of Texas, court reporters are to be licensed by the Court Reporters Certification Board of Texas. The Board outlines the steps to becoming a court reporter in Texas as follows:
Technology is influencing the field of court reporting, as much in Texas as anywhere in the country. This situation is causing a great deal of conversation in the state, especially in recent years. The question is whether modern means, such as audio and video recording, are sufficient to render an accurate record of a legal proceeding.
Subsection 52.021(f) of the Texas legal code states that all depositions conducted in this state must be recorded by a certified shorthand reporter. Though there are some special exceptions to this rule, this law helps ensure court reporters a bright future in Texas. However, given the growing use of new technology, it would be wise for court reporters in Texas to expand their knowledge base and skill set to include all methods of reporting.
Step 1. Enroll in a College or Technical School Offering Court Reporter Programs
Learning how to become a court reporter starts with enrolling in an associate’s degree program offering training in stenography skills and knowledge related to law, conduct and protocol.
Local technical institutes, community colleges and specialized court reporter schools in Texas offer these options available at the undergraduate level:
- Associates of Science in court reporting
- Fundamentals of court reporting
- Associates of Stenography
Although a remedial English class may be required depending upon your placement test score, typical courses include:
- Business Law
- Machine Shorthand Theory
- Courtroom proceedings and practices
- Computer Technology
- Legal and Medical Terminology
Explore Other Education Options Related to Criminal Justice and Legal Studies
Here you’ll find schools that offer certificate and degree programs well suited to a career in legal assisting, law office management and the paralegal profession.
Step 2. Fill out and Send in your Application
In Texas you are instructed to fill out the application to become a court reporter before taking the exam. Court reporters in the state must be approved by the Board in order to become licensed. In the case that you take the exam, and the board subsequently rejects your license paperwork, the $85 examination fee will be refunded.
Step 3. Take the Texas Court Reporter Certification Exam
Texas requires all applicants to pass a certification exam before a license can be awarded. The exam is not administered by the state of Texas itself. Rather it is administered by the Texas Court Reporters Association. There are two exams, a written exam which has a fee of $75, and a skills exam which has a fee of $125. Both exams can be taken at the same time for a fee of $190.
It is important to note that you must first receive permission from the CRCB before you will be allowed to sit for the exam.
Step 4. Find Work as a Court Reporter in Texas
After passing your exam and receiving your license to work as a court reporter in Texas, you can begin to look for work.
Some private sector employers in Texas include:
The judicial branch of the Texas government is another great place to seek court reporter jobs in Texas:
Step 5. Maintain Certification and Join a National Organization
Your Texas court reporters license will expire after two years. In order to renew, you will have to first complete 10 hours of continuing education, with no less than 2.5 of those hours being in ethics/rules.