Court Reporter Training, online
Court reporters in Nevada must be licensed and certified. The State Board of Certified Court Reporters is the governing agency for certification and licensing in Nevada. Education is the primary consideration. Court reporters must have an associate’s degree or certificate in court reporting from a community college or vocational school before beginning the licensing process.
You need to take the following steps in order to become a court reporter in Nevada:
Step 1. Attend a Court Reporter School or Program
There is one on-campus school in Nevada with an accredited court reporter program as well as several accredited online schools. All programs take at least two years to complete and include such courses as:
- Computerized Machine Shorthand Theory – Focuses on hearing speech as sounds that are transmitted through the fingers to the keyboard and practicing speed building techniques as applied to literary material, jury charges, question and answer testimony and legal opinions. Emphasis is also placed on listening and concentration skills, grammar, spelling and punctuation.
- Medical and Legal Terminology – Includes learning to use medical and legal reference materials.
- Court Reporting Procedures – Focuses on the court reporter’s role in the judicial process; differences between trials, depositions, statements and hearings; transcript preparation; and the NCRA’s code of ethics.
- Computer Technology – Emphasizes the use of macros, keyboard maps, indexing and speaker identification options.
Online schools have up-to-date technologies that give students access to hundreds of hours of dictation materials at different speeds as well as ways to evaluate at-home practice sessions. There is active interaction with faculty as well as student chat rooms. Both on-site and online schools include on-the-job internships under the guidance of experienced court reporters.
Explore Other Education Options Related to Criminal Justice and Legal Studies
Here you’ll find schools that offer certificate and degree programs well suited to a career in legal assisting, law office management and the paralegal profession.
Step 2. Apply for the Nevada Court Reporter Certification Exam
All applicants for a court reporter license must first successfully pass a certification examination administered by the Nevada State Board of Certified Court Reporters, which is responsible for guaranteeing a standard of excellence in the court reporting profession.
Applications and the $150 testing fee must be submitted to the Board at least 30 days before the examination date.